By using our website you accept our Cookies Policy. Click here to know more. I agree

ETIAS for Americans

European Travel Information and Authorization System

The European Union will launch the European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS), also known as the EU visa waiver, as a response to global security issues and travelers' current needs. This way, ETIAS will offer quicker, more modern and efficient border checks to third-country citizens.

Check Your Travel ETIAS Requirements:

What Is ETIAS for U.S. Citizens Coming to the EU?

The European Travel Information and Authorization System or ETIAS visa waiver will be a travel requirement to visit Europe starting from the end of 2022. U.S. citizens who wish to travel to and around Europe will have to apply online for an ETIAS visa waiver.

American citizens will be able to obtain the ETIAS travel authorization by completing the online form with their personal information and by answering security questions. Americans will also need to provide the member state of intended first entry, and they must enter the Schengen Area through that country.

How Does the ETIAS Travel Authorization Work?

ETIAS is a well-integrated visa waiver system implemented to increase security, and that contributes to a more efficient management of Europe’s borders.

An ETIAS authorization will be required for every American citizen traveling to Europe for short-term stays of up to 90 days. ETIAS is not a visa but will nevertheless become a mandatory requirement for eligible U.S. visitors to enter the Schengen Area.

Americans can apply for an ETIAS visa waiver directly online. When the application is complete, petitioners will be required to pay the processing fees. Once the application has been submitted it will be reviewed by the ETIAS security database system.

If the application is approved, travelers will receive a confirmation email with the ETIAS for Europe. If the application is denied they will receive an email with a written explanation for the refusal.

Traveling to Europe from America

etias us citizens

U.S. citizens will be required to complete and submit an online ETIAS application. The ETIAS online visa waiver will be needed to enter and travel to and around the Schengen Area. The ETIAS travel authorization will be a multiple entry authorization valid for 3 years and will grant its holder multiple stays of up to 90 days in Europe.

The ETIAS visa waiver will be valid to enter countries that are part of the Schengen Area but not the EU, which means, that U.S. citizens will be able to see these countries without the need for any additional European travel documents or permissions.